Author Topic: Ford late model Taurus 3.5 V6 Water Pump --  (Read 4634 times)

Online goodfellow

• Global Moderator
Ford late model Taurus 3.5 V6 Water Pump --
« on: February 26, 2019, 06:37:57 PM »
This must be the engine from hell  -- you have to pull the engine to replace the water pump.  >:( >:( >:(

Being an engineer, I admit that sometimes I just don't get the "engineering design" discipline. What perceived benefit could possibly warrant putting the water pump inside the timing chain cover. If the pump fails catastrophically, it leaks coolant into the oil pan and ruins the lower end.

This young technician took his time explaining and documenting the procedure in three extended videos. I applaud this man --  :-*

Offline J.A.F.E.

• Resident Alien
  • Global Moderator
Re: Ford late model Taurus 3.5 V6 Water Pump --
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2019, 07:45:52 PM »
The benefit of putting behind the timing chain cover must have to do with assembly and saving a step or some costs. Beyond the warranty I doubt manufacturers give a second thought to maintenance. By that I mean the MBAs not the engineers.

It seems insane to put the water pump there especially since it really is a service item and could reasonably be expected to be replaced during the life of a vehicle.
People who confuse etymology and entomology bug me in ways I can’t put into words.

Online goodfellow

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2019, 03:55:38 PM »
The benefit of putting behind the timing chain cover must have to do with assembly and saving a step or some costs. Beyond the warranty I doubt manufacturers give a second thought to maintenance. By that I mean the MBAs not the engineers.

It seems insane to put the water pump there especially since it really is a service item and could reasonably be expected to be replaced during the life of a vehicle.