Author Topic: Cam-Loc and Loc-Rite wrench marking research  (Read 23013 times)

Offline bonneyman

Cam-Loc and Loc-Rite wrench marking research
« on: September 12, 2018, 02:40:24 PM »
Original post modified:
I have about 15 Cam-Loc ratcheting box wrenches, and there are all different company names on them. Someone asked why, and my response was I didn't know why or when.
That was about 2 weeks ago. I've decided to try and run down the skinny on these anomalies, and post my results here. So far I've uncovered a couple of promising leads - don't know where they might lead, but I'm sure no one else has pursued this line of questioning. So, we might get alot of traffic to GG if it takes off.
I'm not an expert on these events. I'm just trying to piece together a history of tools I like. If anyone has some pertinent information, please share it. I'd love to know how things went.

If you accumulate Cam-Loc wrenches (the ones with the spring loaded pins that allow the flare wrench to "ratchet"), you've probably noticed a bunch of different names on them. For instance, SwageLok, Cam-Loc, Utica, Kelsey-Hayes, Bonney, TKF Co, Crawford Fitting, AC Filter Service, and others. I also have one spelled Cam-Lock (with a K). There is very little on the internet - AA's comments, a few "What's this?", and various posts that mention the odd roller pin design. Trying to track down specifics has been a bit tedious, but I have uncovered a few leads.

Let's get started.
Here are some pics of the variously-marked wrenches.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2019, 09:33:07 AM by bonneyman »

Offline J.A.F.E.

• Resident Alien
  • Global Moderator
Re: Cam-Loc wrench research
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2018, 02:51:43 PM »
It's fine here.

Good topic - thanks for being so thoughtful.

I don't have any so not much I can contribute.
People who confuse etymology and entomology bug me in ways I can’t put into words.

Offline bonneyman

Re: Cam-Loc wrench research