Author Topic: I really hate gas with ethanol.  (Read 2889 times)

Offline m_fumich

I really hate gas with ethanol.
« on: June 30, 2020, 07:19:48 PM »
I bought an old (1983) front tined tiller with a 5 HP Briggs & Stratton engine back in 2017 for a small job. I didn’t have a use for it after that and I neglected to drain the gas from the carburetor. The water that accumulated in the gas tank due to the ethanol in the gas rusted the tank and corroded the aluminum carburetor. I worked in a garage 30 years ago and we did a LOT of motorcycle work. I’ve seen carbs that sat for a decade or more with no corrosion. But there was no ethanol in the gas back then.

I could try rebuilding the carburetor but that will cost more than $50 and might not work. A new carburetor would cost $115. A 6.5 HP Predator engine from Harbor Freight would only be $120. I’m replacing the engine. I won’t be scrapping the Briggs engine. I can’t bring myself to scrap a working engine just because it needs a carburetor.

Now I’ll be looking for gas stations that sell ethanol free gas, if there are any.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline DeadNutz

Re: I really hate gas with ethanol.
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2020, 07:29:17 PM »
Smart move to go with ethanol free or clear gas as it is called here. I have been using it for over 3 years and have had no carb problems on any of my small engines. It is also the only gas I have put in the 2002 Tacoma V6 and my mileage increased enough to offset the higher cost. I can get 87 octane at the Maverik station in town or 91 octane at Golden Gate Petroleum at the south end of the valley. The 87 runs about .40/gal higher than the ethanol crap and the 91 .50-.60/gal higher.

Offline Matt_T

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2020, 07:40:29 PM »
Now I’ll be looking for gas stations that sell ethanol free gas, if there are any.

https://www.pure-gas.org/index.jsp?stateprov=TN