Author Topic: Sheet metal tools: Malco  (Read 27755 times)

Offline bonneyman

Sheet metal tools: Malco
« on: August 14, 2018, 11:35:28 AM »
In my work as an HVAC technician I'm sometimes called upon to help the install crews if they get backed up. Also, some A/C repair jobs require modifications to existing duct work (i.e. evap coil replacement). Additionally, various small sheet metal jobs come up (vent piping, gutters, shielding, etc.) and those usually fall upon the A/C techs. Thus, having a fairly complete set of quality sheet metal tools is virtually a requirement for guys doing A/C.

During my years as a technician I've had the opportunity to try alot of different brands of metal working tools. Tin snips (or aviation snips as they're sometimes called) are the most prolific. Probably because sheet metal was first widely used on airplanes. IIRC Klenk was the "inventor" of the hand held metal snips we use today. Other notable brands are Pexto, Wiss, and Midwest. I was gifted a trio of snips made by Lenox which are becoming a favorite.

Malco started in the 1950's (IIRC it was 1953, though their new website differs), and what made them really great was that they designed sheet metal tools specifically for the duct work industry. (They now do alot of other trade tools but I'm focusing on the sheet metal stuff). As such their tools incorporated innovations that made them stand apart from other brands. For me, their most remarkable tool was their line of screwdrivers. The alloy steel of the blades were bulletproof, and the handles were made of an indestructible (their advertising claim and my experience bears it out) polycarbonate material that stood up to daily wear and out right abuse. A pukey orange color, they were instantly recognizeable and easy to spot. Very rarely did you leave one on a job, as that ugly orange handle stood out and was hard to miss.