Author Topic: Throw-away fasteners! What's the deal?  (Read 2800 times)

Online torqueman2002

Throw-away fasteners! What's the deal?
« on: June 05, 2020, 08:48:46 AM »
I know about the torque-to-yield head bolts, conn-rod bolts, and bearing cap bolts.

But, brake caliper bracket to knuckle bolts?!

I'm replacing the rear brakes on a 2016 Buick Encore AWD. Checking the AllData service information for torque specs., it specifies: "Install new brake caliper bracket bolts ....".

OK, I will follow the book, I am a retired GM service engineer, after all.  :c023:  Ahem...

I dutifully order the needed bits 'n pieces (I'm liking the loaded calipers these days, easier and faster). Time to get the job going, and I find I received caliper bracket bolts for the front, not the rear. My fault.  :banghead:

I want to get the job done, so I call the local Buick dealer - parts guy says he'll have to order them, he's never sold any!?

So, what am I going to do?

I'll clean up the old bolts and use them until the Amazon order arrives next week.

I'll reach out to a Powertrain calibrator I know, to see if he can ask a brake engineer.

But why? Are these bolts stretched beyond their normal usable range after installing?

Any ideas?
« Last Edit: June 05, 2020, 08:51:11 AM by torqueman2002 »
"I got to show the young boys how not to do it. I haven't showed them everything not to do, yet. It's a big job!" - Otto Kilcher

Offline Matt_T

Re: Throw-away fasteners! What's the deal?
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2020, 09:12:11 AM »
I doubt stretch is the issue with caliper bracket bolts. Maybe the bolts have a pre-applied threadlocker? That'd be a reason for the book to require replacement.

Offline goodfellow

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2020, 09:16:25 AM »
I doubt stretch is the issue with caliper bracket bolts. Maybe the bolts have a pre-applied threadlocker? That'd be a reason for the book to require replacement.