Author Topic: Keenserts -- the industrial alternative to Heli-Coils  (Read 12566 times)

Offline goodfellow

• Global Moderator
Keenserts -- the industrial alternative to Heli-Coils
« on: August 29, 2018, 02:53:04 PM »
These are Keenserts -- I have been using these for high strength repairs for the last two decades. I believe that they were originally developed by Fairchild. Then the technology was picked up by ALCOA and marketed as "Tridair-Keenserts". For repairing heads, these are a stronger alternative to traditional Heli-Coil fasteners.

Here is a good "How-To" PDF, that explains the install and the benefits --

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=77da8fd4484b5e25312dbd5f2bdc5062ec150950fe7248a45621d66e282a0ee8

Offline Uncle Buck

• Administrator
Re: Keenserts -- the industrial alternative to Heli-Coils
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2018, 03:46:12 PM »
Man, if that is your assortment that could not have been cheap at the time of purchase!
You boys better hold on cause I'm gonna have to stand on it!

Offline goodfellow

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2018, 03:53:39 PM »
Man, if that is your assortment that could not have been cheap at the time of purchase!

I got lucky -- bought it for a song off a shop that was closing about 20 years ago.

Offline Papaw

• Old Wrench Freak
    • Papawswrench
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2018, 04:00:11 PM »
I used some in motorcycle repair, but found Helicoils to be quicker and easier for me.
Owner and Administrator of Tool Talk

Online gtermini

• Pictures of the junk collection
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2018, 05:36:08 PM »
Awful, vile little things!  >:(