Author Topic: Coworkers....  (Read 1449 times)

Offline muddy

Coworkers....
« on: June 30, 2023, 09:43:26 PM »
So as most of you know I work on forklifts for a living. Today I had to work on a truck that was looked at in the road. That's where the rant begins.

Came in for a "leaking radiator, new carburetor and a valve cover gasket". I get it in the shop, start looking at it. Radiator looks fairly recently repaired and dry as a bone. No evidence of leaking. So I pressure test the system and the water pump is pouring coolant out. Grab it and it has play so it needs a water pump NOT a radiator repair.

So I install a new pump, and thermostat. Truck runs good doesn't over heat or anything. So I go to see why we're replacing the carburetor. I'm assuming the complaint was rough running. Well they were running it with no antifreeze which will cause the vaporizer to freeze up. Well supposedly it has play in the butterfly shaft. I find very little play in it not much more than a new one.

Put the new carburetor on because it was already ordered. Aftermarket of course.... And the new carb doesn't work. As in the engine won't run with that carburetor. This isn't the first defective carb we've gotten (that's a whole other rant on parts quality). So I put the old one on with a new diaphragm. Fires right up.

Next the valve cover gasket. Come leak on a lot of forklifts sometimes big leaks that looo like rear main leaks. Other times it's just damp, dirty or hairy. Ok. This time it's the latter.... however after running it for about 5 minutes I spot a puddle of oil under the engine. I look under and the oil pressure sending unit is leaking... Of course they didn't see that....