Author Topic: My New Vise Stand  (Read 1890 times)

Offline TexasT

• Where I can be found
My New Vise Stand
« on: July 15, 2020, 06:32:27 PM »
This particular vise is a 6 1/2" Wilton Tradesman. Made in USA unit.

I worked in the West Texas Oil Field from 2006-09 for Schlumberger. I never worked anywhere before or since where time was such a commodity and everything seemed to be an emergency. If it didn't happen fast the world was ending or so they made it seem. This vise was being scrapped as the crew who had it on their logging truck had not maintained it and the jaw was frozen. And in typical fashion, they went and bought another one. I asked and did receive. I soaked it down repeatedly and used a wood splitting wedge and bertha our sledge hammer and worked the jaw loose.  I had to buy a horse shoe collar thing for the lead screw to retain the screw to the jaw. I tried to fab one up out of a big washer but decided it wasn't going to work out. Broke down and pried open the wallet and ordered a new one form www.ereplacementparts.com

Not sure I ordered the right one as the holes did line up but that isn't a problem as the vise had been abused so much that the original fasteners were broken off in the jaw. I set the new horse shoe on there marked, drilled and tapped new holes. I didn't do a good enough job and the hex head fasteners didn't work out and I ended up breaking off two of the hex head blots. So, I drilled em again and got some allen head fasteners and went that route.

I came upon two trailer drums, Yep, the big size off a semi trailer. I used to work for a gas supplier, Kicking around cylinders was fun for a while but I found a better place of employ with much better benefits, but that is a whole 'nother story. We had a customer who did trailer repairs and he was tossing these drums out, so I asked could I have them. He said sure so I loaded em up and took em home.  Any way, one drum in use here and another to build another stand for the grinder.