Author Topic: How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?  (Read 380 times)

Offline jabberwoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 750
How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?
« on: April 21, 2019, 05:29:28 PM »
All I can find is how to replace them. I want to see if this is the cause of my problem.
Is the need enough? or does the want suffice?

Offline muddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 840
Re: How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2019, 08:56:03 PM »
Looks like the motor only has 2 wires going to it. Add a power and ground and see if she works

Sent from my E6910 using Tapatalk


Offline jabberwoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 750
Re: How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2019, 09:29:12 PM »
Theres about 5 wires going in.
Is the need enough? or does the want suffice?

Offline muddy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 840
Re: How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2019, 05:54:40 AM »
Theres about 5 wires going in.
But only two go into the motor. The other 4 go in the gear box probably proximity switchs

Sent from my E6910 using Tapatalk


Offline stokester

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 234
  • Air-cooled!
Re: How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2019, 06:27:41 AM »
Not real familiar with these but I'll bet there are scan tool parameters that can be checked during activation.  It may require the OEM or another high-end tool.
Nick
Yorktown, VA

Offline jabberwoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 750
Re: How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2019, 07:25:11 PM »
Yeah im thinking about re installing it and taking it in. Trouble is im a tight arse.
Is the need enough? or does the want suffice?

Offline Matt_T

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
Re: How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2019, 11:46:51 PM »
Not real familiar with these but I'll bet there are scan tool parameters that can be checked during activation.  It may require the OEM or another high-end tool.

Forscan would be worth a try. It's supposed to be near OEM functionality. Software is free but you do have to buy a ELM327 adapter.

https://forscan.org/home.html

https://forscan.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=6142

Offline jabberwoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 750
Re: How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2019, 08:56:45 AM »
So you use that with your phone?
Is the need enough? or does the want suffice?

Online john k

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 240
Re: How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?
« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2019, 09:18:42 AM »
If this is like the rangers and broncos I used to work on,  plug it  back in, under the vehicle,  have someone cycle the switch, and tap on the motor,  often they stick from lack of use. 

Offline Matt_T

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
Re: How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?
« Reply #9 on: April 24, 2019, 11:05:45 AM »
So you use that with your phone?

The phone versions appear to have limited functionality. One of the things they lack is "output control" which might be needed to diag your shifting problem.

https://forscan.org/comparsion.html

Offline jabberwoki

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 750
Re: How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?
« Reply #10 on: April 24, 2019, 08:03:36 PM »
Well I put it back in today and it seams to worksish. When selecting 4x4 low it tells me " shift delayed more forward. So you take it out of N into drive the motor revs up just a tad you get a heavy click and sometimes a bang as it goes it. This I don`t like.
Is the need enough? or does the want suffice?

Offline slip knot

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
Re: How do you bench test a ford transfer shift motor?
« Reply #11 on: April 24, 2019, 09:59:49 PM »
The 4X engagement in my F250 is noisy too. the manual even states that noise is normal.

From what I've read about Forscan its limited in what it controls. Not sure if drivetrain is included.