Author Topic: Some sanity for the current situation  (Read 12513 times)

Offline bonneyman

Some sanity for the current situation
« on: March 12, 2020, 07:07:49 PM »
With all the fear-mongering going on in the news (one can't get any real info from the main stream media) I thought I'd start a thread that might give some comfort and advice to my forum buds and anybody else willing to read on.

Disclaimer: I am no medical professional. "I'm a mechanic - not a doctor, Jim!" What I offer here is some of the things I've done and continue to do as this crisis unfolds. (Will these step guarantee safety? No. Hopefully you'll be able to beat the odds if you're careful and meticulous). Take it FWIW - anybody's opinions or advice would be a welcome addition.

Seems to me from all I've read from reliable sources that avoiding big crowds is the number one thing to do. I'm not going to go into lockdown at my house (though I have tons of fun projects to keep me busy!), but on the other hand I ain't going to go to any movie theaters or concerts any time soon. I'm prudent but not paranoid. Probably will avoid eating out much as well. You don't know if the staff is not feeling well but didn't stay home cause "I can't afford it!".  :38: So, they can afford getting you sick? No thanks.

Face masks IMHO won't stop virus-sized particles. So, trying to stop from getting infected with a mask is probably a waste of time. The pores in most masks aren't fine enough to filter out the thing, and most cheapo masks don't fit well enough  (or people don't wear them properly). Heck, doctors overseas have died while working around sick patients while in HAZMAT suits, so.
I'd use a gas mask. After a bad landfill fire some years ago and awful smelling stuff drifting to my house (2-3 miles away) I invested in some military surplus gas masks. The filters will stop gas molecules - they should stop virus particles.