Author Topic: Barkeepers Friend  (Read 8388 times)

Offline Papaw

• Old Wrench Freak
    • Papawswrench
Barkeepers Friend
« on: September 03, 2018, 07:04:55 PM »
I bought a can of this on recommendation, but I can't seem to get any real results with it.
Any suggestions?
Owner and Administrator of Tool Talk

Offline J.A.F.E.

• Resident Alien
  • Global Moderator
Re: Barkeepers Friend
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2018, 07:43:43 PM »
The liquid or the powdered cleanser? I use the powder and make a paste of it with a few drops of water and let it sit for a few minutes and then scrub off with a nail brush or a rag. You can do this in a pan or tray or something so you don't loose the stuff. It works well but sometimes you have to put in some energy. I've been working on an old ratchet for a couple months but it was really bad to start. I'll work on it and then get fed up and put it away for a while and then want to finish so out it comes and then get sick of it. In the end I'll have a couple hours or so in it.
People who confuse etymology and entomology bug me in ways I can’t put into words.

Offline Papaw

• Old Wrench Freak
    • Papawswrench
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2018, 07:55:45 PM »
That's the problem. I won't spend that much time cleaning a wrench.

Offline J.A.F.E.

• Resident Alien
  • Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2018, 08:18:10 PM »
It does get tedious. One of the vendors I buy from does a lot of electrolysis but I have never done it.

Is it rust or crud you're wanting to clean?
People who confuse etymology and entomology bug me in ways I can’t put into words.

Offline slip knot

« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2018, 09:03:25 PM »
IIRC the oxalic acid in it is what takes the rust off and it needs time to work on the rust. I use it similar to JAFEs method but I use the liquid to wet down the powder kinda a one- two punch. I think the liquid may work better than the powder but it settles out really bad.

Offline Papaw

• Old Wrench Freak