Author Topic: Two Wheels, One Ticker, and Endless Roads  (Read 1493 times)

Online oldcarguy

Two Wheels, One Ticker, and Endless Roads
« on: December 06, 2023, 11:58:55 AM »
I have been a fan of two wheel transportation for over seventy years. Being from a large family I found my transportation on trash days. A part here and another part there. Assembling them until I had a working bicycle. Starting for pleasure rides up and down local sidewalks. As I got older I'd adventure to a fishing hole hours away. Rain, snow or sleet didn't stop me. And having a paper route since I was twelve made a bike a necessity.
Once I was eighteen I graduated to four wheels. Other than a few years owning a used 1950 Harley pan head. That I sold to purchase a house when I was twenty. But I kept my trusty two wheeler's with peddles..

Being a camper for most of my adult life. Bicycles were always a part of it. However with age my legs could not keep up with peddling. And purchased my first electric assist bicycle fifteen years ago. It was an EG Milan built by EG Bikes. The 350 watt motor in the rear hub, and  36 volt 10 AH battery that slid into the rear rack. Along with 21 Speed Shimano Rear and SIS Front Derailleurs... Pulling my dog in the trailer a single charge range would be 30 miles at best. Traveling with a second battery was a must. All my ebikes have an assist mode level. So you put the same amount of effort on a hill as if you're on level road. If I'm totally bushed, a hand throttle will get me home without peddling...